HOPE for the HAPLESS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

The Politics of Good and Evil

Leave a comment

OK, I promised myself I wasn’t going to say anything, but after my Canadian News being hijacked for the fourth straight night with one feel-good Obama story after another (to the exclusion of any other possible news in this world) I just have to get this off my chest.

What bothers me in all this never-ending hype over the American election is the nagging question that I’m left with having watched it all unfold. When did this world’s our sense of the divine become so stunted, so clouded, so myopic, that we look for both our satans and our saviours in the very human political leaders of one nation of this earth? Over the months and years leading up to this election, the fervor has grown steadily not only in the USA, but here in my country of Canada and around the whole world it seems. It is the struggle between all that is good in this world and all that is wrong with it, light and dark, death and life. (I only wish I were exaggerating any of this!). The religious intensity with which so many have viewed and engaged this political process is truly startling.

Agree or disagree with with the politics, but President Bush is NOT the devil. Yes the whole world has been ruined by one man – but that man was Adam, not George. This world was in rough shape long before Mr. Bush arrived on the scene – to say otherwise is to give him far too much credit. Credit no one (and everyone!) deserves. Similarly, hope and change for this fallen world has indeed come through a second man – but that man is Jesus the Messiah, the Son of the Living God, not President-elect Obama.

I’m not ‘pro’ or ‘anti’ anyone in American politics. I’m Canadian, and it’s really none of my business – really! I am happy that the American people have exercised their right to democracy. I am happy that the American people have voiced their opinion and chosen a leader. I am happy that so many of them are moved to see hope in these tough times. But I will not substitute my saviour for someone even as charming as Barack.

What I will do is seek to put religion and politics back into their proper perspective. I will join in with my faithful American brothers and sisters in Christ to pray for their leader. I will pray that He might govern his people with wisdom and justice. I will pray that he would serve with compassion for those who cannot defend themselves. And I will pray that when he cannot deliver this world from the full weight of it’s sin, that this world will repent of this unfair burden they have placed upon his shoulders and turn to the one true Saviour of our world.

For as by a man came death, by a man has come also the resurrection of the dead. For as in all die, so also in Christ shall all be made alive. (1Corinthians 15:21-22)

Author: kenmaher

When I'm not working I enjoy Astronomy, Camping, Comic Books, Epic Fantasy Novels, Games (both playing and designing), Hiking, Juggling, Sci-fi, and building strange things out of pvc pipe. I also enjoy being an honorary pre-schooler with my four great children ... much to their mother's dismay.

Leave a Reply

