HOPE for the HAPLESS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

Issues Etc Quote of the Week

Leave a comment

I’ve been listening to this show for years, but even more of late. I can’t begin to tell you what a gift it has been to me. A gift of sound Lutheran teaching delivered in a caring, pastoral approach. A gift that I use every day in my life and my ministry. I think you can too … thus my gift to you of a soundbite from this week’s show for your consideration.

But all of us have received gifts that we did not want or feel we can use.  One gift that comes to mind for me is a pair of hand-knitted socks.  They were brown and orange stripped and went up right to my knees.  How could I possibly wear them? I thought even as I accepted them.  (How can you say no to someone who has gone out of their way to do something nice for you?)  And so home they came and in the back of my sock drawer they stayed.

But then I discovered something.  Not only were those socks really comfortable and warm, they were really fun to wear!  Just for laughs I would put them on to see everyone’s reaction.  It never failed to make me feel better.

Similarly, not all of God’s gifts seem terrific at first blush.  Consider repentance.  It is the gift that no one really wants to be stuck with.  But it is a wonderful gift that can come only from God, and is given by Him to make us feel better every time we use it.  Have a listen to Dr. Andrew Das as he speaks about the gift of repentance in my choice for the Issues Etc Soundbite of the week.

Listen to MY Issues Etc Quote of the Week

Now this a gift we can all use!

Author: kenmaher

When I'm not working I enjoy Astronomy, Camping, Comic Books, Epic Fantasy Novels, Games (both playing and designing), Hiking, Juggling, Sci-fi, and building strange things out of pvc pipe. I also enjoy being an honorary pre-schooler with my four great children ... much to their mother's dismay.

Leave a Reply

