HOPE for the HAPLESS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

Issues Etc Soundbite(S) of the Week …

Leave a comment

Here again, is something I would like to do from time to time in an effort to point you towards a wonderful resource for your Christian faith and life.  The show is Issues Etc and the faithfulness, the proclamation, and the scholarship are all second to none.  I know it gives me so much to think about each and every episode.

Each week on the show they post a series of soundbites for listeners to vote on as the soundbite of the week.  Today I will give you the TWO (yes two) I chose as my pick for this week.  They did not come from the same interview, but they do both speak to the same issue.  I chose these because I see it all too often, good Christians who misunderstand apologetics (defending the faith) to be the same as apologizing for the faith.

You hear it in the attitude that says This is my faith, but yours is fine too.  This is what I believe, but far be it from me to burden you with it!  Jesus is great for me, but maybe you have someone better. There is only one God, and many different paths to Him (her/it).

Where does such an idea come from?  Certainly not the Scriptures!  Jesus said (John 14:6) “I am THE way, THE truth, and THE life.  NO ONE comes to the Father EXCEPT THROUGH ME.”  To believe anything less dear Christian is to believe that your very own saviour is a liar … is that really what you want?  Not all religions are basically the same.  They all disagree on one important fundamental point – who Jesus is and what Jesus means for us and our salvation.  It is never doing a disservice to anyone to make sure that we point this out, and then point them to the truth!

Soundbite #1 (Bishop Gene Robinson denying the Truth of Christ Alone)

+ + +

Soundbite #2 (Rev. George Borghardt’s defense of the Truth of Christ Alone)

Author: kenmaher

When I'm not working I enjoy Astronomy, Camping, Comic Books, Epic Fantasy Novels, Games (both playing and designing), Hiking, Juggling, Sci-fi, and building strange things out of pvc pipe. I also enjoy being an honorary pre-schooler with my four great children ... much to their mother's dismay.

Leave a Reply

