HOPE for the HAPLESS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

An Embarassing Confession

Leave a comment

moldwallI have a moldy basement.  There I said it.  You may commence with the puns and the good-natured ribbing.  I am trying to make light of the situation, but I know that it isn’t great.  It’s very far from great.

Just after Christmas we had our first water leak in the basement.  There was a lot of rain and melting snow.  We got it cleaned and dried and thought we were OK … but …  then it happened again and we knew there was something going on.  We called in a friend and he helped us open up the wall.

I wish he hadn’t.  Now problem is impossible to ignore, but also strangely hard to fix.  Contractors won’t touch it until it is properly cleaned.  Cleaners won’t go near it until it has been tested.  The mold tester is supposed to come today.  So the basement sits there in all its open shame, taped off and sealed in until we are allowed to get on with fixing it.

What have I learned in all this?  I have learned that my basement is only “damp-proofed.”  I have learned that there is a lot of water pressure that builds up in the ground in my neighbourhood through the winter and spring.  I have learned that one tiny little crack can lead to a world of damage, the worst of which is often not easy to see.

I have been given a valuable reminder of what our life looks like because of sin.

The world is full of so many pressures, each pushing hard against our foundations.  All the best of intentions, all our hard work can only damp-proof that foundation against this world’s assaults.  Eventually sin will cause that foundation to crack.  Maybe it is because of an illness, maybe a lay-off.  Maybe it is the friction within your marriage or family.  You may not even notice the crack at first, but it all starts to seep in and the damage is already done.  A little thing to clean up and then you are fine again … or are you?  The real damage may lie hidden beneath the surface  getting moldy and more toxic every day.  Getting worse and worse, until it comes out into the open … but by then it is hard to deal with and nobody really wants to!

Well, one person does.  That’s why Jesus came – to clean the basement of our moldy souls and heal the damage sin has done.  But even more, He still comes in His Word and in His Sacraments to help prevent any further damage!  By His Word of Forgiveness He seals the crack sin have made.  By the means of grace He waterproofs our foundations puts a barrier around our lives … a barrier to protect us from the pressures that seek to crack, the cares that seek to erode, and tragedies that seek to destroy our foundations.

I have a moldy basement.  There I said it again.  But more importantly I will also say that I have a heavenly contractor who is at work even now to solve the problem once and for all!

Author: kenmaher

When I'm not working I enjoy Astronomy, Camping, Comic Books, Epic Fantasy Novels, Games (both playing and designing), Hiking, Juggling, Sci-fi, and building strange things out of pvc pipe. I also enjoy being an honorary pre-schooler with my four great children ... much to their mother's dismay.

Leave a Reply

