HOPE for the HAPLESS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

Remember Me?

Leave a comment

So there it is again. Mocking me. Making fun of me. Teasing me with its promise that just never seems to come true. Right under the log in boxes with their places for user names and passwords, is that little check box “Remember Me.” Why yes please! That would be wonderful. How thoughtful of you.

But it’s all a lie isn’t it? Because each time I come back to the site I need to log in again. It hasn’t remembered me at all. So I check the box again, hoping that maybe this time I will be remembered. But I’m not.

I know it’s not me, I’ve checked all my settings. I should be memorable – but I’m not. It’s one thing to be forgotten by people, but by your own computer !?!

We all know what it is like to not be remembered. That awkward and uncomfortable exchange when someone you know can’t seem to place you. There is no better way of instantly deflating a person’s overgrown ego, than to hear someone say: “And you are …?”

The fear of being forgotten starts so many of our conversations. “Remember me? Last summer we had iced tea on so-and-so’s porch.” The fear of being forgotten leads many a youth to daring and foolhardy actions. “I’ll show them! They’ll remember the day they called me a chicken!” The fear of being forgotten inspires so many a large work of philanthropy at the end of one’s life.

But no matter how great or grand the gestures, no matter how foolish or foolhardy the actions, no matter how many times you type in the passwords and check the boxes, you will be forgotten. Time has a way of wiping clean the memories of even the best of us.

Is it any wonder that people are afraid that God has forgotten them? How long do I need to be away before He asks “And you are …?” How much time apart is too much? How many sick-bed prayers begin “Remember me, God? We used to hang out together in such-and-such church all those years ago.” How many mis-informed souls go to daring and foolhardy lengths to “buy” God’s remembrance? How many death-bed occupants are moved to great and grand religious gestures in the hopes of being remembered before it is too late?

Fear not. We may forget. God does not! We may be forgotten … but not by God. God never forgets – He has carved you in the very palm of His hand. You are there every time our Lord Jesus looks at his own hand … right there in that nail-shaped scar that bears your name! Remember me? He certainly does!

But Zion said, “The LORD has forsaken me; my Lord has forgotten me.” “Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me.

Isaiah 49:14-16

Author: kenmaher

When I'm not working I enjoy Astronomy, Camping, Comic Books, Epic Fantasy Novels, Games (both playing and designing), Hiking, Juggling, Sci-fi, and building strange things out of pvc pipe. I also enjoy being an honorary pre-schooler with my four great children ... much to their mother's dismay.

Leave a Reply

