HOPE for the HAPLESS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

Warning lights

Leave a comment

So there I was driving along between calls yesterday and the brake light warning came on.  Unlike others I know, I do generally give some credence to such indicators on my dashboard.  (Some) … I made a quick test and the brakes seemed to work fine.  No jerking, sliding, grinding, smoking, or screeching.  They felt OK, they worked just fine, but that light wouldn’t go away.

I arrived at my next destination (giving more attention to all stops etc…) and still the light was there.  Coming out again an hour or so later I hopped into the car and behold – the warning lights were gone.  “Aha” I thought, “Just as I suspected … a faulty sensor.”  The driving continued, and except for an odd look down to the dash, little more thought was given to it.  Out of the car, and  back in again, and guess what had come back?  Yup.

So what did I do?  Nothing.  I just kept on driving.  I had errands to run, a job to do, a schedule to keep.  I suppose I will have to get it checked … but not right away as family scheduling over the next week will make it impossible.  Sound familiar?  Come on … you can tell me!  You’ve done it too haven’t you?

Maybe some of you are not as foolish as me, and would never ignore the warning lights in your car, but you have ignored other indicators.  We all have.

There you are going through life and all of a sudden that little voice in your head (or heart) gives a ping or a thump or a skip, and you know that something isn’t quite right.  There’s that niggling little doubt, or shame, or sadness that wasn’t there before.  Your conscience is one of Gods ways of warning us when we are putting ourselves in spiritual danger.  It is there to let us know it’s time to put on the brakes.

So what do you do?  You put yourself through a few quick tests to make sure everything is still working all right.  Am I getting enough sleep?  Have I eaten enough (or too much)? Did I see/read/hear something that might have upset me?  No?  Then It’s probably nothing!  A faulty sensor, a mistaken reading.  There was most likely nothing wrong and you’re just getting upset over nothing.

Oh sure, for the next few hours or days you may approach your life with a little more caution, (don’t do this particular thing again … try not to think about that so much … watch what you say a little better), but it won’t really change what you do.  Very quickly that attack of conscience has retreated to the odd glance around to make sure nothing more drastic has happened, and then, it is just plain ignored.  You learn to live with it, like it is normal.  Like it was always there.  Warnings can be ignored until they can’t even be seen or felt anymore.  Then what?

That is the question we must all consider.

If we choose to ignore the warning I suppose we must either hope that it isn’t true, or that the consequences won’t be so bad.  And even if you are willing to do that with your car are you willing to do it with your life?  Maybe I should go and call the mechanic …

Author: kenmaher

When I'm not working I enjoy Astronomy, Camping, Comic Books, Epic Fantasy Novels, Games (both playing and designing), Hiking, Juggling, Sci-fi, and building strange things out of pvc pipe. I also enjoy being an honorary pre-schooler with my four great children ... much to their mother's dismay.

Leave a Reply

