HOPE for the HAPLESS

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Romans 12:12

(No) Excuses, excuses!

Leave a comment

Wow! It’s hard to believe that it has been over a month since I last posted here.  I’m not sure what you all did with your extra free time, not having my words of “wisdom”  to pour over again and again … I hope you were able to manage! (Who am I kidding? I didn’t even miss me!)

I suppose I should offer my excuses for leaving everyone to fend for themselves for so long.  First there was the Synod convention in Hamilton (I wrote about my experiences at it for the Canadian Lutheran Online) and the visit with extended family who live nearby. There was the extended visit from my favourite mother-in-law … the visit from my mom and dad and niece, all from Saskatchewan … the date night with my wife (not only did we go to a restaurant where we got free food, but I won another ereader!) … the shopping day with my eldest daughter … the gardening and yard work … playing at the beach and in the park … the day trip to Wiarton with my beloved brood … the Seminar I hosted in my congregation … my experiences as a new member of the Collingwood Dragon Boat and Canoe Club, … and the one week of holidays … just to name a few …

Yes I could make all sorts of excuses – but I won’t. I will simply offer this … sometimes life just needs to be lived.  There were times when Jesus taught, and preached and expounded, and then there were times when He simply did – ate, visited, traveled, healed, lived, loved.  And never once did He offer an excuse for what He did or didn’t do.  It was all good!

So if you will forgive me for not blogging for a while, I will do my best to post “regularly” again. I might even have a few things to talk about after all this time away! And in the meantime, I pray that you would be encouraged to simply go and be … and enjoy doing and  being! Spend time with family, be the parent, child, spouse, or neighbour God has called you to be … and don’t ever feel like you need to make excuses for doing it!

Author: kenmaher

When I'm not working I enjoy Astronomy, Camping, Comic Books, Epic Fantasy Novels, Games (both playing and designing), Hiking, Juggling, Sci-fi, and building strange things out of pvc pipe. I also enjoy being an honorary pre-schooler with my four great children ... much to their mother's dismay.

Leave a Reply

